On this page
- How we evaluated AI code review tools
- Comparison table
- LLM review and deterministic review
- 1. CodeRabbit
- 2. Greptile
- 3. GitHub Copilot code review
- 4. Cursor Bugbot
- 5. Claude Code Review
- 6. Qodo
- 7. Graphite
- 8. Bito
- 9. CodeAnt AI
- 10. Sourcery
- 11. Devin Review
- 12. Ellipsis
- 13. PR-Agent
- 14. repowise PR bot
- How to choose the best AI code review tool for your team
- FAQ
The best AI code review tools in 2026 are CodeRabbit for most teams, Greptile when whole-repository context matters most, and GitHub Copilot code review when you already pay for Copilot. AI code review means a language model reads a pull request and writes the comments. The right pick depends on three things: your git host, whether code may leave your network, and whether you want the review to explain a change or to gate it.
The short list, as of 29 October 2026:
- CodeRabbit: the broadest general-purpose reviewer, on all four major git hosts.
- Greptile: reviews against an index of the whole codebase.
- GitHub Copilot code review: zero setup for teams already on a paid Copilot plan.
- Cursor Bugbot: review that hands fixes to the Cursor agents a team already uses.
- Claude Code Review: Anthropic's multi-agent reviewer for GitHub, the deepest and most expensive per pull request here.
- Qodo: rules-driven, multi-agent review with on-prem deployment on Enterprise.
- Graphite: AI review built into a stacked pull request workflow on GitHub.
- Bito: per-seat review on GitHub, GitLab and Bitbucket with a self-hosted add-on.
- CodeAnt AI: review bundled with security scanning and code quality.
- Sourcery: the lowest per-seat price among the large paid reviewers here.
- Devin Review: Cognition's reviewer, usable on a PR link with no install, on six git hosts.
- Ellipsis: no seat fee, usage billed at token cost, optionally inside your AWS account.
- PR-Agent: open source (MIT), run on your own infrastructure with your own model keys.
- repowise PR bot: deterministic review from the call graph and git history, free in Signals mode, and about 9 cents a pull request on average when you add AI.
This post compares AI reviewers as products. For the narrower question of which bot to install on GitHub, and how noisy each one is, see PR review bots for GitHub.
We build repowise, so weigh our entry accordingly. The measurements we publish about it, with their methods, are on the benchmarks page.
How we evaluated AI code review tools
We compared each tool on what a team decides on, using only the vendor's own pricing pages and documentation, fetched on 29 October 2026.
- Repository context: does the reviewer see only the diff, or callers, history and the rest of the codebase?
- Where it runs: supported git hosts, IDE or CLI review, and whether you can self-host.
- Price model: per seat, per review credit, usage-based or your own model bill, at list price.
- Repeatability: does the same diff get the same review, so a finding can safely block a merge?
Where a vendor's page did not state something (a git host list, an annual versus monthly price), we say so instead of guessing. We did not run our own accuracy benchmark for this post. Independent leaderboards such as Martian's Code Review Bench rank LLM reviewers, and positions there shift month to month, so the test that matters is your own pull request history (see How to choose).
Comparison table
| Tool | Review style | Repository context | Git hosts | Self-host | Starting price (October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CodeRabbit | LLM, in PR, IDE and CLI | Diff plus linked context; blast radius audit on Advanced | GitHub, GitLab, Azure DevOps, Bitbucket | Enterprise | Free on public repos; Essentials $24/dev/month annual |
| Greptile | LLM with a whole-repo index | Graph of functions, classes and dependencies | GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Gitea | Enterprise | Free Starter (50 credits); Pro $1 per credit, no seat fee |
| GitHub Copilot code review | LLM, on GitHub.com, IDEs and CLI | Diff and PR context | GitHub; Azure DevOps in preview | No | Included in paid Copilot plans, billed in AI credits per review |
| Cursor Bugbot | LLM, with autofix agents | PR, prior comments and team rules | GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps | No | Included in Cursor Premium ($30/month) and up, and Teams ($30+/user/month); usage-based |
| Claude Code Review | Multi-agent LLM with a verification step | Diff in the context of the full codebase | GitHub incl. Enterprise Server (managed); GitLab through CI/CD | No (not available with Zero Data Retention) | Team and Enterprise; usage credits, no flat price (launch estimate $15 to $25 per PR) |
| Qodo | LLM, multi-agent, rules | Codebase and PR history | GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps; Gerrit on Enterprise | Enterprise (single-tenant or on-prem) | 14-day trial; Pro Team from $30/month plus credits |
| Graphite | LLM inside a stacked-PR tool | Diff and PR stack | GitHub; GitHub Enterprise Server on Enterprise | No | Free Hobby; Starter $20/user, Team $40/user annual |
| Bito | LLM review agent, plus IDE review | Diff and codebase context | GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket | $5/seat/month add-on on Professional; Enterprise | Team $12 to $15 per seat per month, 5K lines included |
| CodeAnt AI | LLM review inside a security and quality suite | Not stated on the pages we fetched | GitHub confirmed on its docs; others not stated | Not stated | 14-day trial; per-user prices not shown on the page we fetched |
| Sourcery | LLM, summaries and diagrams | Diff and nearby code | GitHub, GitLab | Enterprise | Free on public repos; Pro $12/dev/month annual |
| Devin Review | LLM, organized diff and chat | Codebase-aware chat; reads REVIEW.md and AGENTS.md | GitHub, GitLab, Azure DevOps, Bitbucket Cloud and Data Center | Per the docs, GitHub Enterprise Server and GitLab Self-Managed are supported | Review consumes ACUs; Devin plans from Free to Pro $20/month |
| Ellipsis | LLM agents | Repository agent sandboxes | GitHub (the only host named) | In your AWS account (BYOC) | No seat fee; tokens at cost plus 10% platform fee |
| PR-Agent | LLM, open source (MIT) | Diff, configurable | GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps, Gitea | Yes, you run it | Free; you pay your model provider |
| repowise PR bot | Deterministic signals by default; AI review optional | Call graph, git history, ownership, co-change, tests | GitHub (bot); CI gates on GitHub Actions, GitLab CI, Azure Pipelines, Bitbucket Pipelines and Jenkins | Engine and CI gates are open source; the bot is hosted | Signals free on every repo, no model call; AI review about 9 cents a PR on average from credits, no seat fee |
Scroll the table sideways to see every column.
Prices are list prices from each vendor's page on 29 October 2026. Enterprise tiers are negotiated, and per-seat prices change often, so confirm on the linked page before you buy. For a per-vendor price breakdown, see AI code review pricing compared and the cost calculator.
LLM review and deterministic review
An LLM reviewer reads a diff and writes comments; a deterministic reviewer computes facts about the diff from a precomputed index. The first is strong at intent: summarizing a large change, spotting an odd design choice, explaining a fix in plain language. The second is strong at repeatability: a call graph, a hotspot score or an ownership map gives the same answer for the same input, which is what a comment that blocks a merge must do.
The payoff of a good LLM reviewer is measurable. Atlassian's large online evaluation of its RovoDev reviewer, accepted at ICSE 2026, reported that 38.7% of its comments led to a code change and pull request cycle time fell 30.8% (arXiv 2601.01129, January 2026). We wrote up how the deterministic side works, with no model calls, in building a deterministic PR review bot.
1. CodeRabbit
CodeRabbit is a general-purpose AI reviewer that comments on pull requests and also reviews code before the PR, in the IDE, a CLI and coding-agent loops.
- Where it shines: breadth. It runs on GitHub, GitLab, Azure DevOps and Bitbucket, includes one-click fixes and pre-merge checks from the first paid tier, and adds a blast radius audit and architecture impact review on Advanced. Its self-hosting docs cover a container inside your network with your own LLM provider for Enterprise customers with 500 or more seats.
- Pricing as of October 2026: free on public repositories. Essentials $24 per developer per month annual ($30 monthly), Team $48 ($60 monthly) with test generation and triage, Advanced $72 annual, Enterprise custom. Included reviews per hour rise from 5 to 8 to 10 across the three paid tiers (pricing; our CodeRabbit pricing breakdown).
- Pick it if you want one reviewer that covers every git host and the IDE, and per-seat pricing suits you. The CodeRabbit comparison sets it beside a deterministic layer.
2. Greptile
Greptile reviews pull requests against an index of the entire codebase, so a comment can name a caller that lives far from the diff.
- Where it shines: cross-file reasoning. Its docs describe a repository graph of functions, classes and dependencies, on GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Gitea. Three review depths let you spend more on risky changes: base (1 credit), plus (3) and apex (10).
- Pricing as of October 2026: free Starter with 50 credits a month for one developer. Pro has no seat fee: credits cost $1 each, prepaid and shared across the organization, for unlimited developers and agents. Enterprise adds self-hosting and SSO. Qualified non-commercial open source projects are free, and pre-Series A startups with under $2M in revenue get 500 free credits a month for six months (pricing; our Greptile pricing breakdown).
- Pick it if hidden coupling between files is your main source of bugs, and paying per credit instead of per seat fits your PR volume. The Greptile comparison goes deeper.
3. GitHub Copilot code review
GitHub Copilot code review is GitHub's built-in AI reviewer, requested on a pull request like a human reviewer.
- Where it shines: no new vendor. It works on GitHub.com, GitHub CLI, GitHub Mobile, VS Code, Visual Studio, Xcode and JetBrains IDEs, with Azure DevOps in public preview (GitHub docs). The model is fixed by GitHub; the docs say switching is not supported.
- Pricing as of October 2026: included in Copilot Pro, Pro+, Max, Business and Enterprise, not Free. Each review draws AI credits plus GitHub Actions minutes for context gathering. GitHub estimates $0.05 to $1 of credits for a lite review and $0.25 to $5 for a balanced one, charged to the pull request author by default. Our Copilot code review cost post works through a month of it.
- Pick it if your organization already pays for Copilot and wants review with nothing new to install or approve.
4. Cursor Bugbot
Cursor Bugbot reviews every pull request update and can hand its findings to a Cursor cloud agent to fix.
- Where it shines: the loop from review to fix. It reads existing PR comments to avoid repeats, runs on demand with a
bugbot runcomment, and takes repository rules from.cursor/BUGBOT.md. It supports GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps, including their self-hosted editions, with autofix branch creation on GitHub only (docs). - Pricing as of October 2026: AI code reviews are included in Cursor plans from Premium ($30 a month) up, and in Teams at $30 or more per user per month; Free and Plus do not include Bugbot. Bugbot is usage-based with no seat fee. Cursor's May 2026 announcement put an average run at $1.00 to $1.50, and its June 2026 changelog says runs became about 22% cheaper, with no newer dollar figure (Bugbot pricing and alternatives).
- Pick it if your team already writes code in Cursor and wants review findings to flow into the same agents.
5. Claude Code Review
Claude Code Review is Anthropic's managed, multi-agent pull request reviewer, and the Claude Code GitHub Action is its open, bring-your-own-key sibling.
- Where it shines: depth. Per Anthropic's docs, specialized agents read the diff in the context of the codebase, and a verification step checks each candidate finding before it is posted. The managed review is for GitHub repositories on Team and Enterprise plans, and the check run completes neutral, so it never blocks a merge. If you want your own workflow file, the GitHub Action runs on your API key or Claude subscription token, set up with
/install-github-appfor github.com repositories. For GitLab, Anthropic documents a separate GitLab CI/CD integration. The/code-reviewcommand reviews a diff inside your own Claude Code session with no GitHub App. - Pricing as of October 2026: Anthropic's March 2026 launch estimate was an average of $15 to $25 a review; its current docs state no flat price and show each repository's average cost in admin settings after reviews run. Billing is on token usage through usage credits, billed to the organization with a monthly cap you set, separate from plan usage. The Action costs your token spend plus GitHub Actions minutes (our cost breakdown).
- Pick it if a missed defect is expensive enough that a review in the tens of dollars is cheap, and you point it at the riskiest pull requests instead of all of them.
6. Qodo
Qodo (formerly Codium) sells a multi-agent review platform built around rules a team can read and change.
- Where it shines: governance across providers. It supports GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps, plus Gerrit on Enterprise, and Enterprise adds bring-your-own model keys with single-tenant or on-prem deployment (docs).
- Pricing as of October 2026: a 14-day free trial. Pro Team from $30 a month for up to 30 users, with credit packs pooled across the team at $0.012 per credit. Enterprise is custom, for 30 users and up. Open source projects can apply for free access (pricing; our Qodo pricing breakdown).
- Pick it if you want review driven by explicit rules and need on-prem or single-tenant deployment.
7. Graphite
Graphite is a stacked pull request workflow for GitHub with an AI reviewer built in.
- Where it shines: small, reviewable changes. Stacking keeps each PR narrow, and the reviewer, chat and merge queue live in the same tool.
- Pricing as of October 2026: free Hobby for personal repositories. Starter $20 per user per month and Team $40, billed annually; AI reviews are limited on Starter and unlimited on Team and Enterprise. Enterprise adds GitHub Enterprise Server support and SSO (pricing).
- Pick it if you want to adopt stacked PRs and get review in the same place.
8. Bito
Bito sells an AI Code Review Agent per seat, with GitHub, GitLab and Bitbucket support and IDE review in VS Code, JetBrains IDEs, Cursor and Windsurf.
- Where it shines: a per-seat price with the self-hosted option available as an add-on, which few seat-priced reviewers offer below Enterprise.
- Pricing as of October 2026: Team lists $12 and $15 per seat per month and Professional $20 and $25; the page does not label which figure is monthly and which is annual, so confirm with Bito (the lower figure is probably annual). Both include 5K lines per seat per month, then $5 per 1K lines. Professional adds a 14-day trial with no card and self-hosting as a $5 per seat per month add-on; Enterprise adds on-prem and multi-org (pricing). Public and open source repositories can get free access through Bito's sponsorship program (free options for open source).
- Pick it if you host on Bitbucket or GitLab, want a predictable seat price, and may need to self-host without an Enterprise contract.
9. CodeAnt AI
CodeAnt AI reviews pull requests line by line and can apply fixes before merge, as one part of a suite that also covers code security, code quality and developer metrics.
- Where it shines: one vendor for review and scanning. Its site lists AI code review next to SAST, dependency, secrets and SBOM checks (codeant.ai).
- Pricing as of October 2026: its pricing page offers a 14-day free trial with no card, free access for open source projects by email and startup discounts on request. The plan table does not render on the page, and docs.codeant.ai does not list prices, so we cannot quote per-user prices, and we could not confirm git hosts beyond GitHub or a self-hosted option from the pages we fetched (pricing). Ask the vendor before you shortlist it on either point.
- Pick it if you want review and security scanning bought together and you are on GitHub.
10. Sourcery
Sourcery reviews every pull request for bug risks, design, performance and team standards, with summaries and diagrams.
- Where it shines: price. It has the lowest per-seat price among the large paid reviewers on this list, with custom review rules on every plan (docs). It runs on GitHub and GitLab, self-managed GitLab included.
- Pricing as of October 2026: free on public repositories. Pro $12 per developer per month annual ($15 monthly), Team $24 ($30 monthly) with nightly scans and an issues dashboard, Enterprise custom with self-hosting and bring-your-own LLM keys (pricing).
- Pick it if you want a capable LLM reviewer at the lowest per-seat price, on GitHub or GitLab.
11. Devin Review
Devin Review is Cognition's code review product, inside the Devin web app, that turns a large pull request into an organized diff with explanations and a bug report.
- Where it shines: reading big changes, and reach. It groups related changes instead of listing files alphabetically, flags bugs as Severe or Non-severe, reports security findings with CWE identifiers, and answers questions in a codebase-aware chat. It supports GitHub (including Enterprise Server and Cloud), GitLab (including Self-Managed), Azure DevOps (Services and Server), Bitbucket Cloud and Data Center, with write actions varying by provider. On a public GitHub pull request, swap
github.comfordevinreview.comin the URL and no account is needed; private PRs need a Devin sign-in (docs). Auto-review can run on PR creation or on every push, andREVIEW.mdholds project rules. - Pricing as of October 2026: the docs say reviews consume ACUs (Devin's agent compute unit) from your organization's pool and give no per-review price; they size each PR by ACUs used, from XS at 2.25 or fewer to XL above 18. Plans on devin.ai/pricing are Free, Pro $20 a month, Max $200 a month and Teams at $80 a month plus $40 per full dev seat, described as usage quotas, not ACUs. Admins can set a per-PR spend limit on auto-review.
- Pick it if you review large pull requests by hand, want to try a review with no install, or already run Devin and want review and Auto-Fix in one place.
12. Ellipsis
Ellipsis is an agent platform whose code review agent comments on each push to a pull request, billed on usage with no seat fee.
- Where it shines: a bill that tracks use. Its pricing page lists $0 per seat, tokens at cost with a 10% platform fee, plus compute at $0.142 per vCPU-hour and $0.024 per GB-hour. A second option runs the control plane and agent sandboxes inside your own AWS account, which suits teams that want the work in their VPC (pricing).
- Pricing as of October 2026: usage-based as above; optional support packages run $5,000, $10,000 or $15,000 a month and are not required. The pricing page names GitHub as the git host and does not state a per-review average, so estimate from a trial on your own pull requests.
- Pick it if you are on GitHub, prefer paying for tokens used over seats, and want the option of running inside your AWS account.
13. PR-Agent
PR-Agent is an MIT-licensed, community-maintained LLM reviewer that you run yourself. It began at Qodo and now lives in its own GitHub organization, separate from Qodo's commercial product (GitHub).
- Where it shines: control. It runs as a CLI, a GitHub Action or a Docker image, on GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps and Gitea, with models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and others. You own the prompts and decide where code goes.
- Pricing as of October 2026: free software. You pay your model provider and the time of whoever maintains it.
- Pick it if code cannot leave your infrastructure and someone on the team will own the deployment.
14. repowise PR bot
The repowise PR bot is a GitHub App that reviews each pull request from a precomputed index of the repository: call graph, git history, ownership, co-change pairs, tests and code health.
- Where it shines: repeatable answers to "what does this change break?". The comment names callers outside the PR that a changed contract reaches, files that usually change with the PR's files but are missing from it, new findings, and the health of the changed files before and after. Without an uploaded coverage report the tests signal is an estimate from the import graph, and it becomes measured once coverage is connected. A "View on repowise" button opens a public per-PR page with no sign-in on public repositories, with change risk ranked against the repository's own recent commits; repowise-dev/repowise#4506 is a live example. The repowise review check run is on by default and never fails the build unless you turn the health gate on.
- Two modes: Signals is deterministic with no model call, so the same diff gets the same comment, and it stays quiet unless a threshold is crossed. AI review is optional on Pro: a model pass on every pull request that changes code, with a deep review when risk calls for it. Depth is light, auto or deep, default auto; drafts get the quick pass and deep evaluation runs when the PR is ready for review. Comment
/repowise recheckto re-run, or/repowise review deepto force the deep pass. - Pricing as of October 2026: Signals mode is free on every repository and makes no model call. AI review is paid per pull request from credits, with no per-seat or per-repo fee, and averages about 9 cents a pull request, with a per-PR spend cap of 60 cents. Private repositories need a paid plan (bot page).
- Pick it if you want review findings stable enough to gate on. The engine is open source under AGPL-3.0, and the same gates run in any CI with no API key:
repowise risk --fail-above-percentile 95for change risk andrepowise impacted-tests main...HEADfor the tests a branch needs (CI docs). Coding agents get the same analysis through ten MCP tools.

How to choose the best AI code review tool for your team
Start from your hard constraint, then your workflow, then price. Most teams can eliminate half this list from the first two rows below.
| If your constraint is... | Shortlist |
|---|---|
| Code must stay on your own infrastructure | PR-Agent; Bito Professional with the self-hosted add-on; Ellipsis in your AWS account; Qodo, CodeRabbit, Greptile or Sourcery on Enterprise |
| Bitbucket or Azure DevOps | CodeRabbit, Qodo, Cursor Bugbot, Devin Review, PR-Agent (Greptile and Bito for Bitbucket) |
| Already paying for GitHub Copilot | Copilot code review first; add another tool only if it misses context |
| Already writing code in Cursor | Cursor Bugbot |
| Already running Devin | Devin Review |
| Stacked PRs, or want to start | Graphite |
| Low cost per reviewed pull request | repowise AI review, about 9 cents a PR on average from credits, or free Signals |
| Lowest per-seat cost | Sourcery, Bito Team, then CodeRabbit Essentials |
| Bugs come from hidden coupling across files | Greptile, CodeRabbit Advanced, or a call-graph layer such as repowise |
| A missed defect costs far more than the review | Claude Code Review on the riskiest pull requests |
| Findings must be repeatable enough to block a merge | repowise, with an LLM reviewer kept advisory |
Scroll the table sideways to see every column.
By team size. For 20 developers on annual billing, list prices come to about $240 a month for Sourcery Pro, $480 for CodeRabbit Essentials and $800 for Graphite Team. Greptile Pro has no seat fee, so its bill is the credits used: at one credit per standard review, 200 pull requests a month cost about $200. Qodo Pro Team starts at $30 a month for up to 30 users, with credits that scale with PR volume. repowise prices review per pull request instead of per seat: at 10 pull requests per developer, those 20 developers open 200 a month, and AI review covers each one for about 9 cents on average in credits. Reviewing the same 200 pull requests once with Claude Code Review would cost about $3,000 to $5,000 at Anthropic's launch-time $15 to $25 estimate; your own average appears in admin settings after a pilot. A solo developer or open source maintainer can run CodeRabbit, Sourcery, Greptile Starter or the repowise bot on public repositories for free.
Test before you buy. Replay about 20 merged pull requests through each shortlisted tool, including two or three that later caused an incident. Count the comments you would have acted on and the ones you would have muted; a reviewer the team learns to ignore costs more than its seat price.
Combine layers when you ship fast. Run deterministic checks for ownership, change risk, missing co-changes and tests as the gate, and let one LLM reviewer write the summary and flag intent questions as advisory comments. For GitLab specifically, see AI code review for GitLab merge requests.
FAQ
- What is the best AI code review tool in 2026?
- CodeRabbit is the strongest general-purpose choice because it covers GitHub, GitLab, Azure DevOps and Bitbucket and reviews in the IDE as well as the PR. Greptile leads when whole-codebase context matters most, and GitHub Copilot code review is the easiest start for teams already on Copilot. Trial two of them on the same 20 past pull requests and keep the one whose comments you would have acted on.
- What is AI code review?
- AI code review is a tool that reads a pull request, usually with a language model, and posts comments on bugs, risks and style before a human approves the merge. Some tools also summarize the change, suggest fixes or hand findings to a coding agent. A deterministic variant computes its findings from a precomputed index instead of a model.
- Is there a free AI code review tool?
- Yes. CodeRabbit and Sourcery review public repositories for free, Greptile's Starter plan includes 50 credits a month, Devin Review works on public pull requests through a
devinreview.comlink, and PR-Agent is MIT licensed, so you pay only for model calls. The repowise PR bot is free on public repositories and makes no model calls in its default mode. - Does GitHub Copilot do code review?
- Yes. Copilot code review is included in Copilot Pro, Pro+, Max, Business and Enterprise, but not Copilot Free. Each review consumes AI credits, which GitHub estimates at $0.05 to $5 per review depending on effort level and PR size, plus GitHub Actions minutes for context gathering (as of October 2026).
- Does Claude do code review?
- Yes, in three forms. Anthropic's managed Claude Code Review is for GitHub repositories on Team and Enterprise plans and is billed on token usage (Anthropic's launch estimate was $15 to $25 a review). The Claude Code GitHub Action runs on your own API key or subscription token, and the
/code-reviewcommand reviews a diff inside a Claude Code session. - How much does AI code review cost?
- It ranges from free to about $25 a pull request depending on the model. Per seat, list prices run from $12 (Sourcery Pro, Bito Team lists $12 to $15) to $48 or more (CodeRabbit Team). Per review, Cursor put Bugbot at $1.00 to $1.50 a run in May 2026, Anthropic's launch estimate for Claude Code Review was $15 to $25, and the repowise AI review averages about 9 cents from credits (as of October 2026).
- Which AI code review tools work with GitLab, Bitbucket or Azure DevOps?
- CodeRabbit, Qodo, Cursor Bugbot, Devin Review and PR-Agent support all three. Greptile and Bito support GitLab and Bitbucket, Sourcery supports GitLab, and Copilot code review has Azure DevOps in public preview. Graphite is GitHub only, and Claude Code Review's managed service is GitHub only (Enterprise Server included), with GitLab covered by a separate CI/CD integration.
- Can I self-host an AI code review tool?
- Yes. PR-Agent is open source and runs on your infrastructure with your own model keys. Bito offers self-hosting as a $5 per seat per month add-on on Professional, Ellipsis can run inside your AWS account, and CodeRabbit, Greptile, Sourcery and Qodo offer self-hosting or on-prem deployment on their Enterprise plans. The repowise engine and its CI gates are open source under AGPL-3.0 and need no model.
- Can AI code review replace human reviewers?
- No, but it shortens their work. AI reviewers handle summaries, rule checks and common defects well, while people remain better at product intent, trade-offs and team context. In Atlassian's ICSE 2026 study, its LLM reviewer cut human-written review comments by 35.6% and PR cycle time by 30.8%, and it worked alongside human review, not in place of it.
- What is the difference between LLM and deterministic code review?
- LLM review reasons with a language model, so it can explain intent and suggest fixes, but its output can vary between runs. Deterministic review computes findings from fixed rules and precomputed signals such as the call graph, ownership and churn, so the same pull request always gets the same result. Teams typically keep LLM review advisory and gate merges on deterministic findings.



